Punjab Govt Holidays 2019

Punjab Govt Holidays 2019
The year 2019 is around the corner and the new year will start in just few weeks from now. A lot of people, especially govt employees are curious to see the list of Punjab govt holidays in 2019.
The complete list of Punjab Govt Holidays 2019 is given on this page, which is according to the list of gazetted holidays calendar as per the govt notification. According to this list, there are total 25 gazetted holidays during the calendar year 2019 in public offices of Punjab government. Other than these holidays, the offices will remain closed on all Saturdays and Sundays.

Tomorrow Holiday in Punjab

There are rumors that tomorrow i.e. 11 November 2019 is a holiday in Punjab govt schools and offices and many people have the question that is it a holiday tomorrow or not. First let us know that what's special about tomorrow (11th November).
The birthday Gurpurab of Shri Guru Nanak Dev Ji is on Tuesday, 12th November 2019. So 12th Nov is a govt holiday in Punjab. As this is 550th Gurpurab of Guru Nanak Dev ji, so it is being celebrated with much enthusiasm and at a large scale. In view of the 550th anniversary celebrations, Punjab govt declared a holiday in the state on 11th November also. So there are two holidays 11th & 12th November 2019 on the occassion of Parkash Diwas or Birthday Gurpurab of Shri Guru Nanak Dev ji.
All government offices, schools, offices of boards, corporations and educational institutes in the state will remain closed on this day.
Note that holiday declared on 11th Nov is a gazetted holiday in Punjab and it is not a bank holiday. So banks in the state will remain open on 11th November. As per the list of bank holidays in Punjab, there is a holiday in banks on 12th November.
You may also like the following pages:
Gurpurab 2019 Date
Sangrand 2019
Nanakshahi Calendar 2019

Punjab Govt Holidays

The complete list of government holidays in Punjab for the year 2019 is given below. The offices of Punjab govt will remain closed on these days and also closed on all Saturdays & Sundays.
According to this list, there are total 25 govt holidays in Punjab during the calendar year 2019 in the offices of Punjab government. Govt employees will be little disappointed to know that eleven holidays are coming on Saturdays and Sundays, ਸੋ ਇਸ ਵਾਰੀ ਤਾਂ ਗਿਆਰਾਂ ਛੁੱਟੀਆਂ ਮਾਰੀਆਂ ਗਈਆਂ.
  1. 13th January (Sunday)
    Birthday Guru Gobind Singh Ji
  2. 26th January (Saturday)
    Republic Day
  3. 19th February (Tuesday)
    Birthday of Sri Guru Ravidas Ji
  4. 4th March (Monday)
    Maha Shivratri
  5. 21st March (Thursday)
  6. 13th April (Saturday)
    Ram Navami
  7. 14th April (Sunday)
    Vaisakhi/Birthday of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar
  8. 17th April (Wednesday)
    Mahavir Jayanti
  9. 19th April (Friday)
    Good Friday
  10. 5th June (Wednesday)
  11. 7th June (Friday)
    Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Arjun Dev Ji
  12. 17th June (Monday)
    Kabir Jayanti
  13. 12th August (Monday)
    Eid-al-Adha (Bakrid)
  14. 15th August (Thursday)
    Independence Day
  15. 24th August (Saturday)
    Janm Ashtami
  16. 31st August (Saturday)
    First Parkash Purab of Guru Granth Sahib Ji
  17. 29th September (Sunday)
    Agarsen Jayanti
  18. 2nd October (Wednesday)
    Birthday of Mahatma Gandhi
  19. 8 October (Tuesday)
  20. 13th October (Sunday)
    Birthday of Maharishi Valmiki Ji
  21. 27th October (Sunday)
  22. 28th October (Monday)
    Vishawkarma Day
  23. 12th November (Tuesday)
    Parkash Gurpurb of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji
  24. 1st December (Sunday)
    Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji
  25. 25th December (Wednesday)
    Christmas day

NOTE: The festival of Raksha Bandhan or Rakhi is coming on 15th August (Thrusday). This day is already a holiday due to Independence Day. Otherwise, it is normally 2 hours holiday in govt offices and offices open at 11:00 AM.

Restricted Holidays In 2019

A list of restricted holidays for calendar year 2019 is given below. In the year 2019, government employees are allowed to avail 2 holidays from restricted holidays list, depending upon their personal preference.
Sr. No.Name of Holiday(s)Holiday DateDay of Week
1New Year Day1st JanuaryTuesday
2Lohri13th JanuarySunday
3Nirwan Diwas of Bhagwan Adinath ji3rd FebruarySunday
4Basant Panchmi / Birthday of Satguru Ram Singh Ji10th FebruarySunday
5International Women Day8th MarchFriday
6Hola Mohalla21st MarchThursday
7Shahidi Divas S. Bhagat Singh Ji23rd MarchSaturday
8Birthday of Sri Guru Nabha Dass Ji8th AprilMonday
9May Day1st MayWednesday
10Lord Parshuram Jayanti7th MayTuesday
11Buddh Purnima18th MaySaturday
12Nirjala Ekadashi13th JuneThursday
13Death Anniversary of Maharaja Ranjit Singh Ji29thh JuneSaturday
14Martydom Day of Shahid Udham Singh31st JulyWednesday
15Birthday of Baba Jiwan Singh Ji5th SeptemberThursday
16Birthday of Baba Sri Chand Ji7th SeptemberSatursday
17Muharram10th SeptemberTuesday
18Saragarhi Day12th SeptemberThursday
19Anant Chaturdashi12th SeptemberThursday
20Birthday of S. Bhagat Singh Ji28th SeptemberSaturday
21Birthday of Baba Banda Singh Ji Bahadur16th OctoberWednesday
22Birthday Of Sri.Guru Ram Dass Ji15th OctoberTuesday
23Karva Chauth17th OctoberThursday
24Birthday Sant Namdev Ji26th OctoberSaturday
25Goverdhan Pooja28th OctoberMonday
26Gurgaddi Diwas Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji29th OctoberTuesday
27New Punjab Day1st NovemberFriday
28Chath Pooja2nd NovemberSaturday
29Martyrdom Day of S. Kartar Singh Sarabha Ji16th NovemberSaturday
30Birthday of Prophet Mohammad Sahib (Milad un Nabi or Id e Milad)10th NovemberSunday
31Jor Mela Sri Fatehgarh Sahib26th, 27th & 28th DecemberThursday, Friday & Saturday

Bank Holidays 2019 Punjab

There are total 12 Bank Holidays in Punjab in the calendar year 2019. It is important to note that bank holidays are not same throughout the country. The list is issued by the respective state governments according to the directions of Ministry of Finance, Government of India. Punjab government has notified following holidays which would be observed as public holidays according to section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act. Other than these holidays banks will remain closed on all Sundays and also on 2nd/4th Saturdays of each month.
  1. 26th January (Saturday)
    Republic Day
  2. 19th February (Tueday)
    Birthday of Sri Guru Ravidas Ji
  3. 21st March (Thursday)
  4. 1st April (Thursday)
    Bank Holiday (Annual Account Closing)
  5. 13th April (Saturday)
    Ram Navami
  6. 19th April (Friday)
    Good Friday
  7. 5th June (Wednesday)
  8. 15th August (Thursday)
    Independence Day
  9. 2nd October (Wednesday)
    Birthday of Mahatma Gandhi
  10. 8 October (Tuesday)
  11. 12th November (Tuesday)
    Parkash Gurpurb of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji
  12. 25th December (Wednesday)
    Christmas day

Your Suggestions are welcome Click to Call