Independence Day Quiz with Answers

This year, we are celebrating 71st Independence Day of India. India got independence on 15 August 1947, after almost 200 years long british rule. Almost two and a half year after independence, India got its own constitution and became 'Republic of India' on 26 January 1950. Also check our page about Republic Day Quiz Questions.
As part of the celebrations, quiz programs are organized in many schools and colleges in which you will be asked questions about Indian Independence Movement. If you are a school or college student and looking for an Independence Day Quiz, then this web page is for you. Let's start the Independence Day Quiz.
India Independence Day Quiz with Answers
Who wrote this slogan "Self-Rule is my birthright and I shall have it"?
A) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
B) Subhash Chandra Bose
C) Bhagat Singh
D) Jawaharlal Nehru
Show Answer

What was the name of first fort built by East India Company (EIC) and its located in which city?
A) Fort Williams, Calcutta
B) Fort Williams, Chennai
C) Fort St. George, Chennai
D) Fort St. George, Surat
Show Answer

The independent legislative assemblies in all provinces of British India were established by which act?
A) Indian Council Act, 1892
B) Rowlett Act
C) Mont-Ford Reforms
D) Government of India Act 1935
Show Answer

'Vande Mataram' was first sung during which session of INC?
A) 1896
B) 1920
C) 1911
D) 1931
Show Answer

When was Quit India Movement started?
A) 1919
B) 1930
C) 1942
D) 1947
Show Answer

Share this page with friends :
Which of the following leaders is known as the "Iron Man of India"?
A) Baldev Singh
B) Bhagat Singh
C) Lal Bahadur Shastri
D) Vallabhbhai Patel
Show Answer

Which of the following Indian freedom fighters killed a british officer in Britain?
A) Bhagat Singh
B) Chandra Shekhar Azad
C) Udham Singh
D) Lala Har Dayal
Show Answer

The picture shown below is associated with which movement or event
Independence of India
A) Quit India Movement
B) Indian Independence Movement
C) Dandi March
D) Protest against Simon Commission
Show Answer

Which of the following rights was described as heart and soul of the constitution by Dr. Ambedkar?
A) Right to freedom
B) Right to vote and elect MPs
C) Right of freedom of religion
D) Right to equality
Show Answer

What does the three colours of national flag represent?
A) Justice, Selflessness, Agriculture
B) Religion, Peace, Trees
C) Sacrifice, Peace and Prosperity
D) None of these
Show Answer

When did Vasco da Gama discovered the sea route to India?
A) 1600
B) 1757
C) 1764
D) 1498
Show Answer

Which of the following songs is the national anthem of India?
A) Rangde Basanti Chola
B) Saare Jahan Se Acha
C) Jana Gana Mana
D) Vande Mataram
Show Answer

Share this page with friends :
Which of the following revolutionaries died due to hunger strike at Lahore jail?
A) Kishori Lal
B) Jatin Das
C) Lala Lajpat Rai
D) Madan Lal Dhingra
Show Answer

Who was the last Viceroy of India?
A) Lord Mountbatten
B) Rajendra Prasad
C) Lord Dalhousie
D) Warren Hastings
Show Answer

Which one was the first major battle fought by British East India company?
A) Battle of Plassey
B) Battle of Buxar
C) Revolt of 1857
D) Battle of Panipat
Show Answer

The patriotic poem 'Sarfaroshi Ki Tamanna' was written by?
A) Kartar Singh Sarabha
B) Ram Prasad Bismil
C) Muhammad Iqbal
D) Bankim Chandra Chatterjee
Show Answer

Who was the first Indian revolutionary to assassinate a British official in England?
A) Udham Singh
B) Vinayak Damodar Savarkar
C) Madan Lal Dhingra
D) Shyamji Krishna Varma
Show Answer

The 'India Gate' was built in the memory of which person or event?
A) Indians killed during the Revolt of 1857
B) Protestors who died during Civil Non
C) People who participated in the Civil Disobedience Movement
D) Soldiers killed during First World War
Show Answer

Which of the following Pakistani citizen is awarded Bharat Ratna?
A) Muhammad Ali Jinnah
B) Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan
C) Liaquat Ali Khan
D) Malala Yousafzai
Show Answer

Which of the following revolutionaries threw bombs at Central Legislative Assembly in Delhi?
A) Bhagat Singh, Rajguru and Sukhdev
B) Bhagat Singh and Batukeshwar Dutt
C) Kishori Lal, Jai Gopal and Bhagat Singh
D) Chandra Shekhar Azad and Jai Gopal
Show Answer

Who was the first ambassador of East India company in mughal emperor Jahangir's court?
A) Thomas Roe
B) John Hawkins
C) William Hawkins
D) Warren Hastings
Show Answer

After independence, who was the first Governor-General of India?
A) Rajendra Prasad
B) Lord Mountbatten
C) Lord Dalhousie
D) C. Rajagopalachari
Show Answer

Who wrote the famous book 'India Wins Freedom'?
A) Jawaharlal Nehru
B) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
C) Bipan Chandra
D) Sekhar Bandyopadhyay
Show Answer

When was Indian Independence Act 1947 given royal assent?
A) 3 June 1947
B) 18 July 1947
C) 15 August 1947
D) 2 March 1947
Show Answer

What is the motto of Indian Army?
A) Valour and Faith
B) Balidaan
C) Who Dares Wins
D) Service Before Self
Show Answer

Who killed Mahatma Gandhi and when did he killed him?
A) Nathuram Godse, 30 Jan 1948
B) Narayan Apte, 26 Jan 1948
C) Narayan Apte, 2 Oct 1948
D) Nathuram Godse, 26 Jan 1948
Show Answer

At the time of independence, how many provinces were there in British India?
A) 7
B) 11
C) 14
D) 17
Show Answer

Who was the mastermind behind the attempt to kill Charles Hardinge?
A) Bankim Chandra Chatterjee
B) Bagha Jatin
C) Lala Lajpat Rai
D) Rashbehari Bose
Show Answer

Which Indian citizen was conferred Nishan-e-Pakistan?
A) Mahatma Gandhi
B) Abul Kalam Azad
C) Morarji Desai
D) Atal Bihari Vajpayee
Show Answer

Who was the founder of Indian National Congress (INC)?
A) Mahatma Gandhi
B) Allan Octavian Hume
C) Jawaharlal Nehru
D) Womesh Chunder Bonnerjee
Show Answer

Who wrote the poem Saare Jahan Se Achha?
A) Muhammad Iqbal
B) Rabindranath Tagore
C) Sahir Ludhianvi
D) Gulzar
Show Answer

Which Indian city is known as City of Prime Ministers?
A) Varanasi
B) Allahabad
C) Ahmedabad
D) Bhopal
Show Answer

During the first census held after independence, how much was the total population of the country?
A) 27 Crore
B) 36 Crore
C) 47 Crore
D) 61 Crore
Show Answer

Which of the following freedom fighters was sentenced to death for his involvement in Kakori Train Robbery?
A) Ashfaqulla Khan
B) Ali Brothers
C) Rajguru
D) Banwari Lal
Show Answer

When was Pakistan Resolution adopted by muslim league?
A) 24 March 1940
B) 16 August 1946
C) 26 January 1930
D) 8 October 1942
Show Answer

In which year the First Round Table Conference was held?
A) 1927
B) 1930
C) 1933
D) 1938
Show Answer

Indian Independence Quiz - Part 2
Indian Independence Quiz - Part 3
Indian Independence Quiz - Part 4

Share this page with friends :