Patiala Election Results 2014

Smt. Preneet Kaur of Congress won the by-election held in August 2014. The by-elecion for Patiala vidhan sabha constituency, along with Talwandi Sabo constituency, were held on 21 August, 2014. The elections were mainly peaceful except some minor incidences of clashes between workers of different political parties. There was just 60 percent voting turnout in this constituency. The counting of votes started on 25 August, 2014 and results were declared on the same day. The results are considered important as it will set the tone for the next assembly elections to be held in early 2017.

The by-election for Patiala vidhan sabha seat will be held on 21 August, 2014. The last assembly elections in Punjab were held in 2012 and Captain Amrinder Singh of Congress was elected as MLA from this seat. In the lok sabha elections held in 2014, he contested from Amritsar lok sabha seat and became an MP after winning from that seat. After becoming MP, he has to resign from the vidhan sabha seat and hence the Patiala vidhan sabha seat got vaccant. Due to this by-elections will be held for this constituency along with by-elections for Talwandi Sabo seat.

Patiala assembly constituency is one of the 117 constituencies of Punjab Assembly. Its constituency number is 115. It is located in Patiala district of Punjab. This constituency has mainly the urban area under it, mostly the Patiala city. It comes under the Patiala lok sabha constituency and Dr. Dharam Vira Gandhi of Aam Aadmi Party is the current MP from this seat.

Patiala By-election Candidates

Smt. Preneet Kaur is the Congress candidate from this seat. She belongs to royal family of Maharaja Patiala, so sometimes called as Maharani Preneet Kaur. She is wife of Capt. Amrinder Singh, former Chief Minister of Punjab. She was elected as MP during the elections held in 2009. She was Congress candidate for this lok sabha seat in the elections held in 2014 but lost to Dr. Dharam Vira Gandhi of AAP.
Bhagwan Das Juneja is the Shiromani Akali Dal candidate and Harjit Singh Adaltiwala is the AAP candidate from this seat.

Patiala Byelection Result

The date of byelections is 21 August, 2014 and the election result will be announced on 25 August, 2014. Now let us wait for the results and see who becomes the MLA from Patiala in 2014.

Patiala MLA List

Patiala district has total 8 vidhan sabha seats. In last assembly elections held in 2012, out of total 8 assembly seats in Patiala district, Congress won from 5 seats and ruling SAD won 3 seats. It has always been a strong hold of Congress party. The list of MLAs from Patiala elected in 2012 elections is given below:
  1. Sadhu Singh Dharamsot (Congress) elected from Nabha constituency.
  2. Brahm Mohindra (Congress) elected from Patiala Rural constituency.
  3. Hardial Singh Kamboj (Congress) elected from Rajpura constituency.
  4. Harpreet Kaur Mukhmailpur (SAD) elected from Ghanaur constituency.
  5. Lal Singh (Congress) elected from Sanaur constituency.
  6. Captain Amrinder Singh (Congress) elected from Patiala constituency.
  7. Surjit Singh Rakhra (SAD) elected from Samana constituency.
  8. Vaninder Kaur Loomba (SAD) elected from Shutrana constituency.

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List