Talwandi Sabo Election Result 2014

Jeet Mohinder Singh Sidhu of Shiromani Akali Dal won the by-election held in August 2014.The by-elecion for Talwandi Sabo vidhan sabha constituency, along with Patiala constituency, were held on 21 August, 2014. There were clashes between SAD and Congress workers outside many polling stations and the area remained tense throughout the day. There was 82 percent voting turnout in this constituency. The counting of votes started on 25 August, 2014 and results were declared on the same day. The results are considered important as it will set the tone for the next assembly elections to be held in early 2017.

The by-election for Talwandi Sabo MLA seat will be held on 21 August, 2014. The last assembly elections in Punjab were held in 2012 and Jeet Mohinder Singh Sidhu of Congress party was elected as MLA from this seat. He defeated Amarjit Singh Sidhu of SAD by a margin of 8517 votes. Before the general elections of 2014, he joined the Shiromani Akali Dal. So he has to resign as MLA and hence Talwandi Sabo vidhan sabha seat got vaccant. Due to this, by-elections will be held for this constituency along with by-elections for Patiala seat.

Talwandi Sabo constituency is one of the 117 constituencies of Punjab Assembly. Its constituency number is 94. It is located in Bathinda district of Punjab. It comes under the Bathinda lok sabha constituency and Smt. Harsimrat Kaur Badal of SAD is the current MP from this seat.

Talwandi Sabo Byelection Candidates

Jeet Mohinder Singh Sidhu is the SAD candidate from this seat. In 2012 elections, he contested from Congress ticket and defeated Amarjit Singh Sidhu of SAD by a margin of 8517 votes.
Harminder Siingh Jassi is the Congress candidate and Prof. Baljinder Kaur is the Aam Aadmi Party candidate from this seat. Earlier, the noted Punjabi singer Balkar Sindhu was announced as AAP candidate but later he was denied the ticket due to allegations of human trafficking against him.

Talwandi Sabo Byelection Result

The date of byelections is 21 August, 2014 and the election result will be announced on 25 August, 2014. Now lets wait for the results and see who becomes the MLA from Talwandi Sabo in 2014.

Bathinda MLA List

Bathinda district has total 6 vidhan sabha seats. In last assembly elections held in 2012, out of total 6 assembly seats in Bathinda, SAD won 4 seats and 2 seats were won by Congress party. The list of MLAs from Bathinda elected in 2012 elections is given below:
  1. Sikandar Singh Maluka elected from Rampura Phul.
  2. Ajaib Singh Bhatti elected from Bhuchcho Mandi.
  3. Sarup Chan Singla elected from Bathinda.
  4. Darshan Singh Kot Fatta elected from Bathinda Rural.
  5. Jeet Mohinder Singh Sidhu elected from Talwandi Sabo.
  6. Janmeja Singh Sekhon elected from Maur.

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List