MLA of Bagha Purana 2022

Bagha Purana constituency is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 72. During the recently held assembly elections in Punjab, the voting for the election of MLA of Bagha Purana was held on 20th February 2022. As per the latest updates available, AMRITPAL SINGH SUKHANAND of AAP has won from this seat with a margin of 33759 votes and is elected as the new MLA of Bagha Purana in 2022. TIRATH SINGH MAHLA of SAD has lost the elections and secured the second place.

For a complete list of new MLAs of Punjab, you can check the following link:
Punjab MLA List 2022 For a list of all the MLAs from Moga district, check the following page:
Moga MLA List
This constituency is located in Moga district of Punjab and comes under the Faridkot lok sabha seat. Here it may be noted that there are total thirteen lok sabha seats and twenty three districts in Punjab. In the previous assembly elections held in 2017, Darshan Singh Brar of Congress won from this Vidhan Sabha seat and elected as the new MLA of Bagha Purana. He won the last assembly elections held in 2017 by defeating its nearest opponent Gurbinder Singh Kang of AAP with a margin of 7250 votes.
For the last assembly elections, the voting was held on 4th Feb 2017 and the results were declared on 11 Mar 2017.

Voters in Bagha Purana constituency

As per the voter list for 2017 assembly elections, the total number of voters in Bagha Purana constituency is 167556. During these elctions, the election commission established 164 polling stations, situated at 97 different locations across this assembly segment. During the 2017 elections, the total number of votes cast in this constituency was 137733 and the voting percentage was recorded at 82.20%, which was higher than the state average of 77.4%.

Bagha Purana Candidates

The last assembly elections in Punjab were held in February 2017. On this page, we have given details of candidates from Bagha Purana belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP, BJP and Congress candidates. Some details about these candidates like age, education and contact number is also given here.
AAP Candidate : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Capt Gurbinder Singh Kang for the coming assembly elections. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
Akali Candidate : Tirath Singh is the Shiromani Akali Dal (S.A.D) candidate from this constituency. He is 51 years old and his educational qualification is 4th Standard. If you want to contact him, you can call at 9815135738. In the previous assembly elections, Maheshinder Singh of akali dal was elected as MLA from this seat, but party has not given him ticket from this constituency for the 2017 vidhan sabha elections. For a complete list of akali candidates, check this page - Shiromani Akali Dal Candidate List 2017
Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Darshan Singh Brar as its MLA candidate from this constituency. Some more details about Darshan Singh Brar are as follows: Age - 68 years, Education - 9th. For a phone call, his contact number is 9814466618. In previous assembly elections, he contested from this constituency from Congress ticket but lost to Maheshinder Singh of SAD party. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

Bagha Purana MLA 2012

In 2012 elections, Sardar Maheshinder Singh became MLA from Bagha Purana and He is associated with SAD. He was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the previous assembly elections by winning with a margin of 10556 votes. Darshan Singh Brar of Congress was the trailing candidate.
He was born on 24-11-1956 at Nihal Singh Wala. Name of his father is S. Gurcharan Singh Nihal Singh Wala. The following table shows some more information about him:

Sardar Maheshinder Singh
Father's NameS. Gurcharan Singh Nihal Singh Wala
Date of Birth24-11-1956
Place of BirthNihal Singh Wala
Name of wife
AddressVPO Nihal Singh Wala, Teh. Nihal Singh Wala, Distt. Moga
Educational Qualification
Study At

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List