MLA of Batala - Lakhbir Singh Lodhinangal

Batala constituency is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 7. Lakhbir Singh Lodhinangal, who belongs to SAD, has won the last assembly elections and is the current MLA of Batala. He won the last assembly elections held in 2017 by defeating its nearest opponent Ashwani Sekhri of Congress with a margin of 485 votes.

For the latest assembly elections, the voting was held on 4th Feb 2017 and the results were declared on 11 Mar 2017. Soon we will update this page with more details of new MLA elected in 2017. For a list of other MLAs from Gurdaspur district, check the following page:
Gurdaspur MLA List
This constituency is located in Gurdaspur district of Punjab and comes under the Gurdaspur lok sabha seat. Here it may be noted that there are total thirteen lok sabha seats and twenty two districts in Punjab.

Voters in Batala constituency

As per the voter list for 2017 assembly elections, the total number of voters in Batala constituency is 175225. During these elctions, the election commission established 190 polling stations, situated at 107 different locations across this assembly segment.

During the 2017 elections, the total number of votes cast in this constituency was 122680 and the voting percentage was recorded at 70.01%, which was less than the state average of 77.4%.

Batala Candidates

The last assembly elections in Punjab were held in February 2017. On this page, we have given details of candidates from Batala belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP, BJP and Congress candidates. Some details about these candidates like age, education and contact number is also given here.
AAP Candidate : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Gurpreet Singh Waraich 'Ghuggi for the coming assembly elections. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
Akali Candidate : Lakhbir Singh Lodhinangal is the Shiromani Akali Dal (S.A.D) candidate from this constituency. He is 66 years old and his educational qualification is Matric pseb 1966. If you want to contact him, you can call at 9646877777. In the previous assembly elections, he contested from this constituency from akali dal ticket but lost to Ashwani Sekhri of Congress party. For a complete list of akali candidates, check this page - Shiromani Akali Dal Candidate List 2017
Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Ashwani Sekhri as its MLA candidate from this constituency. Some more details about Ashwani Sekhri are as follows: Age - 57 years, Education - B.A.,L.L.B. For a phone call, his contact number is 9876607200. He is also a sitting MLA from this constituency. In previous assembly elections, he/she won from this seat by defeating nearest opponent Lakhbir Singh Lodhinangal of SAD party. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

Batala MLA 2012

In 2012 elections, Shri Ashwani Sekhri became MLA from Batala and He is associated with INC. He was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the previous assembly elections by winning with a margin of 18885 votes. Lakhbir Singh Lodhinangal of SAD was the trailing candidate.
He was born on 26-03-1959 at Amritsar, District Amritsar. Name of his father is Shri Vishwa Mitter Sekhri. The following table shows some more information about him:

Shri Ashwani Sekhri
Father's NameShri Vishwa Mitter Sekhri
Date of Birth26-03-1959
Place of BirthAmritsar, District Amritsar
Name of wifeSmt. Anuja Sekhri
AddressH.No.20,Sekhri House, Outside Pahari Gate, Batala
Educational QualificationB.A. (Hons.), L.L.B.
Study AtBatala & Chandigarh

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List