Fazilka District (ਫਾਜ਼ਿਲਕਾ)

Fazilka is one of the 22 districts of Punjab. The head quarter of this district is the city of same name, that is Fazilka city. It was announced as the 21st district of Punjab in July 2011. Earlier, it was part of the Firozpur district.

History of Fazilka

Geographical position of Fazilka

The district is located in the south-west corner of Punjab. It is a border district and located alogn the Indo-Pak international border. River Satluj flows in this district along the border with Pakistan. On the southern side, this district shares its boundry with state of Rajasthan. It has district Muktsar towards east and district Firozpur and Faridkot towards north.


According to 2011 census, the total population of Fazilka district is 1063737. The data of 2001 is not available because it was not a district during 2001 census.

Towns and Cities In Fazilka

There are total 4 cities and towns in this district. A list of towns and cities is given below:
  1. Fazilka (Municipal Council Class-1)
  2. Abohar (Municipal Council Class-1)
  3. Jalalabad (Municipal Council Class-2)
  4. Arniwala Sheikh Subhan (Nagar Panchayat)
Which district has minimum and maximum number of cities and towns? To get the answer, check our page about list of cities in Punjab.

Tehsils and Sub-Tehsils

Fazilka district has three tehsils and three sub-tehsils. List of tehsils of Fazilka is given below:
  1. Abohar ਅਬੋਹਰ
  2. Fazilka ਫਾਜ਼ਿਲਕਾ
  3. Jalalabad ਜਲਾਲਾਬਾਦ
List of Sub-Tehsils of Fazilka:
  1. Arniwala Sheikh Subhan ਅਰਣੀਵਾਲਾ ਸ਼ੇਖ ਸੁਭਾਨ
  2. Khuian Sarwar ਖੂਈਆਂ ਸਰਵਰ
  3. Sito Guno ਸੀਤੋ ਗੁਨੋ

Vidhan Sabha Seats in Fazilka

There are total 4 vidhan sabha seats in district Fazilka.
  1. Abohar ਅਬੋਹਰ
  2. Balluana ਬੱਲੂਆਣਾ
  3. Fazilka ਫਾਜ਼ਿਲਕਾ
  4. Jalalabad ਜਲਾਲਾਬਾਦ

Blocks of Distrcit Fazilka

The district is divided into 5 development blocks. The list of blocks is given below:
  1. Abohar ਅਬੋਹਰ
  2. Arniwala Sheikh Subhan ਅਰਣੀਵਾਲਾ ਸ਼ੇਖ ਸੁਭਾਨ
  3. Fazilka ਫਾਜ਼ਿਲਕਾ
  4. Jalalabad ਜਲਾਲਾਬਾਦ
  5. Khuian Sarwar ਖੂਈਆਂ ਸਰਵਰ

MLA from Fazilka

In last assembly elections held in 2012, out of total 4 vidhan sabha seats in Fazilka, 2 MLAs belong to Shiromani Akali Dal, 1 from BJP and 1 from Congress party. The list of MLAs from Fazilka elected in 2012 elections is given below:
  1. Sukhbir Singh Badal elected from Jalalabad. He belongs to SAD. He is the Deputy Chief Minister of Punjab and son of S. Parkash Singh Badal, the Chief Minister of Punjab.
  2. Surjit Kumar Jiyani elected from Fazilka. He belongs to BJP.
  3. Sunil Kumar Jakhar elected from Abohar. He belongs to Congress and is leader of opposition in the Punjab Vidhan Sabha.
  4. Gurtej Singh Ghuriana is MLA from Baluana. He belongs to SAC.
For more details, check this page - Fazilka MLA List

Market Committees in Fazilka

There are total four market committees in Fazilka district.
  1. Abohar
  2. Arniwala
  3. Fazilka
  4. Jalalabad