Mohali District (ਮੋਹਾਲੀ)

Mohali is one of the twenty two districts of Punjab. The head quarter of this district is the city of same name, that is Mohali city. The official name of the district is Ajitgarh and formerly it was Sahibzada Ajit Singh Nagar of S.A.S. Nagar. The district was created in April 2006. It is the hub of I.T. industry in Punjab. According to population, this is a relatively small district and its rank is 12th amongst the twenty two districts of Punjab.

History of Mohali

At the time of reorganization of Punjab in 1966, Chandigarh (the state capital) was kept out of Punjab. The village Mohali was developed as a setellite city of Chandigarh and was named as Sahibzada Ajit Singh Nagar. In 1983, it was made a Nagar Panchayat and thus became a town from a village. In 2006 district S.A.S. Nagar was created. Later it was renamed as Ajitgarh. Though its name has been changed in papers, people still call it Mohali.

Geographical position of Mohali

Mohali district shares its boundary with Chandigarh, the capital of Punjab. The adjacent cities of Chandigarh, Mohali and Panchkula are commonly termed as Tricity or Chandigarh Tricity.


According to 2011 census, the total population of district Mohali is 994628. It was 746987 in 2001. The population increase is higher than other districts of Punjab. The main reason is its proximity to state capital Chandigarh and development of I.T. industry in the region.

Towns and Cities In Mohali

There are total 8 cities and towns in this district. A list of towns and cities is given below:
  1. Ajitgarh (Mohali) (Municipal Corporation)
  2. Zirakpur (Municipal Council Class-1)
  3. Kharar (Municipal Council Class-2)
  4. Kurali (Municipal Council Class-2)
  5. Banur (Municipal Council Class-3)
  6. Dera Bassi (Municipal Council Class-3)
  7. Lalru (Nagar Panchayat)
  8. Naya Gaon (Nagar Panchayat)
Which district has minimum and maximum number of cities and towns? To get the answer, check our page about list of cities in Punjab.

Tehsils and Sub-Tehsils

Mohali district has three tehsils and three sub-tehsils. List of tehsils of Mohali is given below:
  1. Ajitgarh (Mohali) ਅਜੀਤਗੜ੍ (ਮੋਹਾਲੀ)
  2. Dera Bassi ਡੇਰਾ ਬਸੀ
  3. Kharar ਖਰੜ
List of Sub-Tehsils of Mohali:
  1. Banur ਬਨੂੜ
  2. Majri ਮਾਜਰੀ
  3. Zirakpur ਜ਼ੀਰਕਪੁਰ

Assembly Constituencies in Mohali

There are total 3 assembly constituencies (vidhan sabha halke) in district Mohali.
  1. Mohali ਮੋਹਾਲੀ
  2. Dera Bassi ਡੇਰਾ ਬਸੀ
  3. Kharar ਖਰੜ

Blocks of Distrcit Mohali

The district is divided into 3 development blocks. The list of blocks is given below:
  1. Dera Bassi ਡੇਰਾ ਬਸੀ
  2. Kharar ਖਰੜ
  3. Majri ਮਾਜਰੀ

MLA from Mohali

In last assembly elections held in 2012, out of total 3 MLAs from the district, two MLAs belong to Congress and one MLA belongs to Shiromani Akali Dal. The list of MLAs from Mohali elected in 2012 elections is given below:
  1. Balbir Singh Sidhu is MLA from Mohali. He belongs to Congress.
  2. Jagmohan Singh Kang of Congress is MLA from Kharar.
  3. Narinder Kumar Sharma elected from Dera Bassi. He belongs to S.A.D.
For more details, check this page - Mohali MLA List

Market Committees in Mohali

There are total five market committees in Mohali district.
  1. Banur
  2. Dera Bassi
  3. Kharar
  4. Kurali
  5. Lalru