MLA of Kharar - Kanwar Sandhu

Kharar constituency is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 52. Kanwar Sandhu, who belongs to AAP, has won the last assembly elections and is the current MLA of Kharar. He won the last assembly elections held in 2017 by defeating its nearest opponent Jagmohan Singh Kang of Congress with a margin of 2012 votes.

For the latest assembly elections, the voting was held on 4th Feb 2017 and the results were declared on 11 Mar 2017. Soon we will update this page with more details of new MLA elected in 2017. For a list of other MLAs from Mohali district, check the following page:
Mohali MLA List
This constituency is located in Mohali district of Punjab and comes under the Anandpur Sahib lok sabha seat. Here it may be noted that there are total thirteen lok sabha seats and twenty two districts in Punjab.

Voters in Kharar constituency

As per the voter list for 2017 assembly elections, the total number of voters in Kharar constituency is 220994. During these elctions, the election commission established 249 polling stations, situated at 144 different locations across this assembly segment.

During the 2017 elections, the total number of votes cast in this constituency was 159411 and the voting percentage was recorded at 72.13%, which was less than the state average of 77.4%.

Kharar Candidates

The last assembly elections in Punjab were held in February 2017. On this page, we have given details of candidates from Kharar belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP, BJP and Congress candidates. Some details about these candidates like age, education and contact number is also given here.
AAP Candidate : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Kanwar Sandhu for the coming assembly elections. His age is 61 years and level of education is ISC, B.A., MA English Literature, Bachelor of Journalism. The contact number of Kanwar Sandhu is 9779580011. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
Akali Candidate : Ranjit Singh Gill is the Shiromani Akali Dal (S.A.D) candidate from this constituency. He is 52 years old and his educational qualification is Bachelor of Arts. If you want to contact him, you can call at 9872500097. In the previous assembly elections, Ujagar Singh was the akali candidate from this assembly seat, but party has not fielded him from this seat for the coming elections. For a complete list of akali candidates, check this page - Shiromani Akali Dal Candidate List 2017
Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Jagmohan Singh Kang as its MLA candidate from this constituency. Some more details about Jagmohan Singh Kang are as follows: Age - 66 years, Education - B.A., M.A., LLB. For a phone call, his contact number is 09814055077. He is also a sitting MLA from this constituency. In previous assembly elections, he/she won from this seat by defeating nearest opponent Ujagar Singh of SAD party. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

Kharar MLA 2012

In 2012 elections, Sardar Jagmohan Singh Kang became MLA from Kharar and He is associated with INC. He was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the previous assembly elections by winning with a margin of 6776 votes. Ujagar Singh of SAD was the trailing candidate.
He was born on 08-09-1950 at Haryana. Name of his father is Sardar Surinderpal Singh Kang. The following table shows some more information about him:

Sardar Jagmohan Singh Kang
Father's NameSardar Surinderpal Singh Kang
Date of Birth08-09-1950
Place of BirthHaryana
Name of wifeSmt. Ravinder Kaur Kang
AddressH. No.1539, Sec 18-D, Chandigarh
Educational QualificationM.A. (Political Science), L.L.B.
Study AtChandigarh

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List