MLA of Ludhiana South 2022

Ludhiana South constituency is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 61. During the recently held assembly elections in Punjab, the voting for the election of MLA of Ludhiana South was held on 20th February 2022. As per the latest updates available, RAJINDER PAL KAUR of AAP has won from this seat with a margin of 26138 votes and is elected as the new MLA of Ludhiana South in 2022. SATINDERPAL SINGH TAJPURI of BJP has lost the elections and secured the second place.

For a complete list of new MLAs of Punjab, you can check the following link:
Punjab MLA List 2022 For a list of all the MLAs from Ludhiana district, check the following page:
Ludhiana MLA List
This constituency is located in Ludhiana district of Punjab and comes under the Ludhiana lok sabha seat. Here it may be noted that there are total thirteen lok sabha seats and twenty three districts in Punjab. In the previous assembly elections held in 2017, Balwinder Singh Bains of LIP won from this Vidhan Sabha seat and elected as the new MLA of Ludhiana South. He won the last assembly elections held in 2017 by defeating its nearest opponent Bhupinder Sidhu of Congress with a margin of 30917 votes.
For the last assembly elections, the voting was held on 4th Feb 2017 and the results were declared on 11 Mar 2017.

Voters in Ludhiana South constituency

As per the voter list for 2017 assembly elections, the total number of voters in Ludhiana South constituency is 149455. During these elctions, the election commission established 152 polling stations, situated at 42 different locations across this assembly segment. During the 2017 elections, the total number of votes cast in this constituency was 101562 and the voting percentage was recorded at 67.95%, which was less than the state average of 77.4%.

Ludhiana South Candidates

The last assembly elections in Punjab were held in February 2017. On this page, we have given details of candidates from Ludhiana South belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP, BJP and Congress candidates. Some details about these candidates like age, education and contact number is also given here.
AAP Candidate : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Balwinder Singh Bains (LIP) for the coming assembly elections. His age is 57 years and level of education is B.A. The contact number of Balwinder Singh Bains (LIP) is 9814027846. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
Akali Candidate : Hira Singh Gabria is the Shiromani Akali Dal (S.A.D) candidate from this constituency. He is 69 years old and his educational qualification is Private Matric. If you want to contact him, you can call at 9878030000. In the previous assembly elections, Hakam Singh Giaspura was the akali candidate from this assembly seat, but party has not fielded him from this seat for the coming elections. For a complete list of akali candidates, check this page - Shiromani Akali Dal Candidate List 2017
Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Bhupinder Sidhu as its MLA candidate from this constituency. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

Ludhiana South MLA 2012

In 2012 elections, Sardar Balwinder Singh Bains became MLA from Ludhiana South and He is associated with Independent. He was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the previous assembly elections by winning with a margin of 32233 votes. Hakam Singh Giaspura of SAD was the trailing candidate.
He was born on 12-03-1959 at Ludhiana. Name of his father is Mohan Singh Bains. The following table shows some more information about him:

Sardar Balwinder Singh Bains
Father's NameMohan Singh Bains
Date of Birth12-03-1959
Place of BirthLudhiana
Name of wife
AddressH. No. 9757, St. No.5, Kot Mangal Singh Nagar, Ludhiana
Educational Qualification
Study At

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List