MLA of Payal 2022

Payal constituency is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 67. During the recently held assembly elections in Punjab, the voting for the election of MLA of Payal was held on 20th February 2022. As per the latest updates available, MANWINDER SINGH GIASPURA of AAP has won from this seat with a margin of 33009 votes and is elected as the new MLA of Payal in 2022. LAKHVIR SINGH of Congress has lost the elections and secured the second place.

For a complete list of new MLAs of Punjab, you can check the following link:
Punjab MLA List 2022 For a list of all the MLAs from Ludhiana district, check the following page:
Ludhiana MLA List
This constituency is located in Ludhiana district of Punjab and comes under the Fatehgarh Sahib lok sabha seat. Here it may be noted that there are total thirteen lok sabha seats and twenty three districts in Punjab. In the previous assembly elections held in 2017, Lakhvir Singh Lakha of Congress won from this Vidhan Sabha seat and elected as the new MLA of Payal. He won the last assembly elections held in 2017 by defeating its nearest opponent Gurpreet Singh Lapran of AAP with a margin of 21496 votes.
For the last assembly elections, the voting was held on 4th Feb 2017 and the results were declared on 11 Mar 2017. This assembly constituency is reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates. There are total 34 assembly seats in Punjab which are reserved for SC candidates and only a person belonging to SC category can contest elections from these reserved seats.

Voters in Payal constituency

As per the voter list for 2017 assembly elections, the total number of voters in Payal constituency is 158429. During these elctions, the election commission established 197 polling stations, situated at 132 different locations across this assembly segment. During the 2017 elections, the total number of votes cast in this constituency was 130979 and the voting percentage was recorded at 82.67%, which was higher than the state average of 77.4%.

Payal Candidates

The last assembly elections in Punjab were held in February 2017. On this page, we have given details of candidates from Payal belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP, BJP and Congress candidates. Some details about these candidates like age, education and contact number is also given here.
AAP Candidate : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Gurpreet Singh Lapran for the coming assembly elections. His age is 36 years and level of education is Bachelor of Arts. The contact number of Gurpreet Singh Lapran is 9915299199. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
Akali Candidate : Isher Singh Meharban is the Shiromani Akali Dal (S.A.D) candidate from this constituency. He is 69 years old and his educational qualification is B.SC in Agriculture Engineering. If you want to contact him, you can call at 9876107373, 9463100127. In the previous assembly elections, Charanjit Singh Atwal of akali dal was elected as MLA from this seat, but party has not given him ticket from this constituency for the 2017 vidhan sabha elections. For a complete list of akali candidates, check this page - Shiromani Akali Dal Candidate List 2017
Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Lakhbir Singh Lakha as its MLA candidate from this constituency. Some more details about Lakhbir Singh Lakha are as follows: Age - 42 years, Education - M.A.. For a phone call, his contact number is 9915100866. In previous assembly elections, he contested from this constituency from Congress ticket but lost to Charanjit Singh Atwal of SAD party. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

Payal MLA 2012

In 2012 elections, Sardar Charanjit Singh Atwal became MLA from Payal and He is associated with SAD. He was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the previous assembly elections by winning with a margin of 634 votes. Lakhbir Singh Lakha of Congress was the trailing candidate.
He was born on 15-03-1937 at Pakistan. Name of his father is Sardar Sohan Singh. The following table shows some more information about him:

Sardar Charanjit Singh Atwal
Father's NameSardar Sohan Singh
Date of Birth15-03-1937
Place of BirthPakistan
Name of wifeSmt. Inderjeet Kaur
Address484-A, Model Town Ext., Ludhiana
Educational QualificationB.A., L.L.B.
Study AtLudhiana & Chandigarh

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List