MLA of Malout 2022

Malout constituency is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 85. During the recently held assembly elections in Punjab, the voting for the election of MLA of Malout was held on 20th February 2022. As per the latest updates available, Dr. Baljit Kaur of AAP has won from this seat with a margin of 40261 votes and is elected as the new MLA of Malout in 2022. Harpreet Singh of SAD has lost the elections and secured the second place.

For a complete list of new MLAs of Punjab, you can check the following link:
Punjab MLA List 2022 For a list of all the MLAs from Muktsar district, check the following page:
Muktsar MLA List
This constituency is located in Muktsar district of Punjab and comes under the Firozpur lok sabha seat. Here it may be noted that there are total thirteen lok sabha seats and twenty three districts in Punjab. In the previous assembly elections held in 2017, Ajaib Singh Bhatti of Congress won from this Vidhan Sabha seat and elected as the new MLA of Malout. He won the last assembly elections held in 2017 by defeating its nearest opponent Darshan Singh Kotfatta of SAD with a margin of 4989 votes.
For the last assembly elections, the voting was held on 4th Feb 2017 and the results were declared on 11 Mar 2017. This assembly constituency is reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates. There are total 34 assembly seats in Punjab which are reserved for SC candidates and only a person belonging to SC category can contest elections from these reserved seats.

Voters in Malout constituency

As per the voter list for 2017 assembly elections, the total number of voters in Malout constituency is 164405. During these elctions, the election commission established 173 polling stations, situated at 99 different locations across this assembly segment. During the 2017 elections, the total number of votes cast in this constituency was 135413 and the voting percentage was recorded at 82.37%, which was higher than the state average of 77.4%.

Malout Candidates

The last assembly elections in Punjab were held in February 2017. On this page, we have given details of candidates from Malout belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP, BJP and Congress candidates. Some details about these candidates like age, education and contact number is also given here.
AAP Candidate : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Baldev Singh Azad for the coming assembly elections. His age is 63 years and level of education is M.A., M.Ed.. The contact number of Baldev Singh Azad is 9417671364. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
Akali Candidate : Darshan Singh Kotfatta is the Shiromani Akali Dal (S.A.D) candidate from this constituency. He is 65 years old and his educational qualification is M.A.. If you want to contact him, you can call at 94175-61408. In the previous assembly elections, Harpreet Singh Kotbhai of akali dal was elected as MLA from this seat, but party has not given him ticket from this constituency for the 2017 vidhan sabha elections. For a complete list of akali candidates, check this page - Shiromani Akali Dal Candidate List 2017
Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Ajaib Singh Bhatti as its MLA candidate from this constituency. Some more details about Ajaib Singh Bhatti are as follows: Age - 65 years, Education - M.A. (Pol Science). For a phone call, his contact number is 9815472729. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

Malout MLA 2012

In 2012 elections, Sardar Harpreet Singh became MLA from Malout and He is associated with SAD. He was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the previous assembly elections by winning with a margin of 2564 votes. Nathu Ram of Congress was the trailing candidate.
He was born on 19-11-1977 at Kot Bhai, District Muktsar. Name of his father is Sardar Sujan Singh. The following table shows some more information about him:

Sardar Harpreet Singh
Father's NameSardar Sujan Singh
Date of Birth19-11-1977
Place of BirthKot Bhai, District Muktsar
Name of wife
AddressVPO Kot Bhai, Tehsil Gidderbaha
Educational QualificationB.E. (Civil)
Study At

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List