MLA of Samana - Rajinder Singh

Samana constituency is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 116. Rajinder Singh, who belongs to Congress, has won the last assembly elections and is the current MLA of Samana. He won the last assembly elections held in 2017 by defeating its nearest opponent Surjit Singh Rakhra of SAD with a margin of 9849 votes.

For the latest assembly elections, the voting was held on 4th Feb 2017 and the results were declared on 11 Mar 2017. Soon we will update this page with more details of new MLA elected in 2017. For a list of other MLAs from Patiala district, check the following page:
Patiala MLA List
This constituency is located in Patiala district of Punjab and comes under the Patiala lok sabha seat. Here it may be noted that there are total thirteen lok sabha seats and twenty two districts in Punjab.

Voters in Samana constituency

As per the voter list for 2017 assembly elections, the total number of voters in Samana constituency is 177413. During these elctions, the election commission established 208 polling stations, situated at 148 different locations across this assembly segment.

During the 2017 elections, the total number of votes cast in this constituency was 148954 and the voting percentage was recorded at 83.96%, which was higher than the state average of 77.4%.

Samana Candidates

The last assembly elections in Punjab were held in February 2017. On this page, we have given details of candidates from Samana belonging to all major political parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP, BJP and Congress candidates. Some details about these candidates like age, education and contact number is also given here.
AAP Candidate : Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has announced its candidate from this seat and has given ticket to Jagtar Singh Rajla for the coming assembly elections. His age is 51 years and level of education is Bachelor of Arts. The contact number of Jagtar Singh Rajla is 9988690640. For a complete list of AAP candidates, check this page - AAP Candidate List 2017 Punjab
Akali Candidate : Surjit Singh Rakhra is the Shiromani Akali Dal (S.A.D) candidate from this constituency. He is 65 years old and his educational qualification is Graduation. If you want to contact him, you can call at 9814341005. He is also a sitting MLA from this constituency. In previous assembly elections, he/she won from this seat by defeating nearest opponent Raninder Singh of Congress party. For a complete list of akali candidates, check this page - Shiromani Akali Dal Candidate List 2017
Congress Candidate : Congress party is contesting the elections under the leardership of Captain Amrinder Singh and has declared Rajinder Singh as its MLA candidate from this constituency. Some more details about Rajinder Singh are as follows: Age - 56 years, Education - Bachelor of Arts. For a phone call, his contact number is 9779350003. You would also like our page containing Congress candidates list 2017 Punjab.

Samana MLA 2012

In 2012 elections, Sardar Surjit Singh Rakhra became MLA from Samana and He is associated with SAD. He was elected as MLA from this vidhan sabha seat in the previous assembly elections by winning with a margin of 6932 votes. Raninder Singh of Congress was the trailing candidate.
He was born on 19-01-1951 at Rakhra, District Patiala. Name of his father is . The following table shows some more information about him:

Sardar Surjit Singh Rakhra
Father's Name
Date of Birth19-01-1951
Place of BirthRakhra, District Patiala
Name of wifeSmt. Harjinder Kaur
AddressH. No.189, VPO Rakhra, Distt. Patiala Ph. 0175-2306550, 2620224
Educational QualificationGraduate
Study At

For a complete list of MLA from Punjab, check the following page:
Punjab MLA List